

PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release: June 23, 2022

Contact Bonnie Taylor 703.297.8554

Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce honors regional leaders, installs new Board of Directors and officers at the annual Greater Washington Good Business Awards

Matt McQueen, Peraton, inducted as Board Chairman; Kevin Reynolds, United Bank, honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards

Tysons Corner, Virginia – Today, the <u>Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce</u> (Chamber) held its annual <u>Greater Washington Good Business Awards</u> (Awards) honoring and celebrating the leadership of individuals who serve as powerful champions for good within our community. The event welcomed 2022-2023 Chairman **Matt McQueen**, **Peraton**, along with the appointment of 6 new members to its Board of Directors and new Officers, effective July 1, 2022. The event additionally inducted 25 members to the inaugural <u>NOVA Chamber Honors</u> class.

The Awards recognized **Kevin Reynolds**, Executive Vice President and Regional President, Director of Sales, **United Bank**, with a **Lifetime Achievement Award** for his business leadership and community support within the region and Commonwealth. The Awards also honored regional leaders for their impact on the Northern Virginia business community. The **2022 Impact Awards Honorees** are:

- John A. Allen, Regional Bank President at Wells Fargo,
- Lyles Carr, Senior Vice President at The McCormick Group, and
- Janet Osborn, East Region Leader at Aon.

"I am humbled and honored to be associated with the Chamber and my fellow Greater Washington Good Business Awards Honorees, both past and present. These are people who have been my mentors and role models through the years. It is a tremendous honor to be included alongside them," said Reynolds.

"At their heart, the Greater Washington Good Business Awards represent excellence: excellence not only in business, but also as people who devote themselves to helping others. Beyond their considerable business achievements, each of our Honorees has impacted our region for the better through their initiatives and work. It is due to their efforts that we continue to advance a better, stronger place to live and work," said **Julie Coons**, Chamber President and CEO.



Matt McQueen, Peraton, will serve as the Board's Chairman for 2022-2023, assuming the position from outgoing Chairman Luanne Gutermuth, LSG Solutions LLC. The 2022-2023 Board of Directors Officers are:

- Chairman: Matt McQueen, Chief Communications and Engagement Officer, Peraton
- Vice Chairman: Deb Gandy, Managing Director, Chevy Chase Trust
- Secretary: Mark Carrier, President, B. F. Saul Company Hospitality Group
- Treasurer: Jeff Rubery, 1st SVP, Market Executive, Eagle Bank
- General Counsel: Mark Looney, Partner, Cooley
- Immediate Past Chairman: Luanne Gutermuth, Founder, LSG Solutions

The Chamber also welcomed its 2022-2023 Board member class which was selected through a nominating committee. New Board members are:

- Kristina Bouweiri, President and CEO, Reston Limousine
- Dr. Lance Collins, Inaugural Vice President and Executive Director, Innovation Campus, Virginia Tech
- Mike Discenza, CFO, North America, Transurban
- Cecilia Hodges, Regional President, Greater Washington and Virginia, M&T Bank
- Dr. Stephen Jones, President and CEO, Inova
- Mark Looney, Partner, Cooley LLP

"The Chamber is currently experiencing an exciting period shaped by its strategic plan that focuses on regional advocacy, workforce, and DE&I programs. Our impressive new Board Directors and Officers are committed to supporting the Chamber's efforts to promote a diverse business community and economic growth in our region. I look forward to seeing where this new group takes us in the coming year," said Gutermuth.

NOVA Chamber Honors recognizes outstanding leaders who have served the greater Northern Virginia business community through their Chamber service. The **2022 NOVA Chamber Honors Inductees** are:

- Christopher Arabia
- Jeff Bentley
- Barry Biggar
- Judy Biornaas
- Michele Bolos
- Michael Cardaci
- Michael Carlin
- Michael DeStefano
- Ken Fleming
- Mike Forehand
- Len Forkas



- Kathleen Galvin
- David Hunn
- Judith Kassel
- Peter Knickerbocker
- Jack Lavoie
- Arvind Manocha
- Ryan McLaughlin
- Ramal Moreland
- Mike Niggel
- Gary Nunes
- David Ritchey
- Dr. Tim Sands
- Telly Tucker
- Tracey White

A complete Board listing can be found here.

###

About the Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce

Originally founded in 1925 as a Fairfax county-focused business advocacy organization, the Northern Virginia Chamber has grown into the region's largest Chamber of Commerce, drawing members and impacting policy across the Greater Washington D.C. Metropolitan Region. Today, we represent close to 500,000 employees. The diversity of our community is one of our greatest assets and we actively seek out and offer opportunities from which we can learn from one another and form personal connections that help guide lasting business growth.

The Chamber's goal is to be considered not only a business partner but also an agent of change for our members. We do this through our work in government advocacy, education through events and programs, workforce programs, networking, promotion of member businesses, and recognition through awards. We are proud to have worked together over these many years to build a meaningful association that enriches our community and look forward to continuing that good work.

For more information, visit www.novachamber.org.